الضرب:
الصفحة الرئيسية » مميز » 2019 NAB Show New York Profile: Jem Schofield

2019 NAB Show New York Profile: Jem Schofield


نبهني

جيم شوفيلد (المصدر: جيسيكا ووركمان - سكوفيلد)

2019 عرض ناب نيويورك بروفايلز هي سلسلة من المقابلات مع المهنيين البارزين في صناعة البث الذين سيشاركون في هذا العام عرض ناب نيويورك (أكتوبر. 16-17).

________________________________________________________________

المخرج وجيم شوفيلد ، مرشد الفيديو الصغير إلى عدم الطاقم ، موضوع آخر مقابلة لي ، هو رجل يرتدي العديد من القبعات. "أنا منتج ومراقب ومدير ومؤسس theC47 ، وهي شركة إنتاج متكاملة الخدمات تركز على إنتاج الفيديو ، صناعة الأفلامقال لي: أنا أيضًا مستشار في تصميم المعدات للعديد من الشركات المصنعة في صناعة الأفلام والتلفزيون.

لقد بدأت هذه الرحلة كطفل. والدي مصور محترف ونشأت في شقة بها مطبخ صغير تحول إلى غرفة مظلمة في الليل. كانت أول كاميرا تستخدمها بنتاكس K-1000. لقد كانت بداية رائعة لتعليمي في هذا المجال. في المدرسة الثانوية ، قمت بإجراء التصوير الفوتوغرافي وبعض إنتاج الفيديو ، لكنني لم أعد حتى بدأت إنتاج شركتي الخاصة حتى منتصف 90.

"على مسار موازٍ لوجود شركة إبداعية ، أصبحت مدرسًا لما بعد الإنتاج يركز على تأليف أقراص DVD ورسومات الحركة والتحرير في النهاية. بدأ ذلك علاقة طويلة مع Apple و FMC ، والتي تنتج المحتوى التعليمي لـ NAB.

"كل شيء ذهب بلا توقف في 2008. مع عدم حدوث أي شيء يوميًا - لا يوجد أي عمل تقريبًا ، بدأت تشغيل C47 وبدأت في إنتاج مقاطع فيديو يومية عبر الإنترنت تتعلق بإنتاج الفيديو و صناعة الأفلام. أدى هذا المحتوى في النهاية إلى إنتاج محتوى تعليمي لشركات مثل شريعةزايس AbelCine، وغيرها من الشركات في هذه الصناعة. كانت أيضًا ثورة DSLR [الرقمية أحادية العدسة المنعكسة] ، لذلك بدأت بتدريس الفصول وورش العمل التي تركز على الإنتاج وانتقلت من التدريب بعد الإنتاج.

"كانت المهمة الأصلية لـ theC47 تعليمية فقط ، لكن كشخص كان يعمل في الإنتاج منذ أكثر من 20 كمنتج ومدير ومعلم ، قمت في النهاية بدمج شركتي الأصلية للإنتاج مع theX47 في كيان واحد عندما انتقلنا إلى Pacific Northwest قبل بضع سنوات."

طلبت من شولفيلد أن يخبرني عن عمله كمستشار لتصميم المعدات. "إنها مستمرة مع شركات مختلفة في الصناعة ،" أجاب. أحاول مساعدتهم في تصميم منتجات أفضل. في إحدى المرات ، منذ عدة سنوات ، بدأت علاقة مع FJ Westcott. أدى ذلك إلى تصميم وتطوير منتجين يحملان اسم العلامة التجارية C47. إحداها هي مجموعة C47 DP والأخرى هي مجموعة كتب الضوء C47. تم تصميم كلتا الطقمتين الخفيفتين لإنتاج صغير إلى بلا طاقم وهي معدِّلات ضوئية معيارية حتى يمكن استخدامها بعدة طرق مختلفة. أنا فخور بهم وأواصل العمل مع Westcott وغيرها من الشركات لإنشاء أدوات أفضل لما نقوم به. "

عندما سألت Schofield بالتفصيل عن ما يغطيه في دوراته ، أجاب: "يمكن أن يكون محددًا جدًا أو واسعًا اعتمادًا على الموضوع ، ولكن كل ما أعلمه يركز على التكنولوجيا وحرفية الإنتاج. الكاميرا ، والإضاءة ، وقبضة والصوت. إنني أركز بشكل أساسي على برنامج "صغير إلى لا يحتوي على طاقم" ، والذي من المحتمل أن يكون الجزء الأكبر من الإنتاج ، لا سيما مع الإنتاج الداخلي الكبير هذه الأيام. "

سؤالي التالي كان حول الأنواع المختلفة من الكاميرات ، ومعدات الإضاءة ، والبرامج التي يستخدمها شوفيلد في فصوله. أجاب: "بصفتي مراقبا ومعلما ، أستخدم العديد من الأدوات التي أنسى أحيانا!" "الشيء الوحيد الذي تغير هو ورش العمل الخاصة بي عندما أدركت أنها كانت تتمحور بشكل كبير. سأحاول الحصول على كل شيء ، بما في ذلك بالوعة المطبخ ، حتى يتمكن الحاضرون دائمًا من رؤية الأحدث والأكبر. لقد أدركت أن هذا كان يبتعد عن الجانب التعليمي للأشياء من حيث التطبيق العملي ، ولذا فقد قمت بتبسيط عدد الأدوات الموجودة في ورش العمل ، وأنا فقط بما في ذلك الأشياء التي استخدمها أنا والآخرون يوميًا أساس يومي. هذا لا يعني عدم وجود الكثير من المعدات في ورش العمل. هناك is! إنه فقط أكثر تركيزًا ، حتى نتمكن من الدخول في مجموعات أسرع ، حتى يتمكن الأشخاص من الحصول على المزيد من ورش العمل.

"أنا شخصيا أطلق النار مع شريعة C200 ، C300MKII ، Sony FS7 II ، فوجي فيلم X-T3 ، وكذلك ALEXA Mini عندما تكون في مشاريع أكبر. العدسات القائمة على المشاريع. شريعة وزايس لغالبية المشاريع وأيضًا الكثير من زجاج فوجي وسيجما. الإضاءة هي أيضا في جميع أنحاء المكان ، ويحركها المشروع. خط FlexCine من Westcott ، و SkyPanels ، و Litepanels ، و Aputure ، و Fillex ، وما إلى ذلك. أنا أقوم باختبار أضواء جديدة ومعدلات إضاءة طوال الوقت! أنا أيضًا مدمن على قبضة اليد حتى ترى الكثير من هذه الأشياء في ورش العمل الخاصة بي أيضًا. "

ستقوم شركة Schofield بإدارة ورشتي عمل صغيرتين من دون طاقم "الإنتاج داخل الشركة" و "إضاءة الفيديو السينمائية" في أكتوبر هذا العام عرض ناب وأوضح أن "هذه العلاقة مع FMC و NAB بدأت في أوائل 2000s". "لقد كنت أدرس في المعرض منذ ذلك الحين. من المهم بالنسبة لي أن أشارك في NAB نظرًا لوجود جانب اجتماعي مهم جدًا بالنسبة لي ، وإلى جانب التدريب في الموقع الذي أقوم به للشركات الكبيرة ، فإن فرصتي هي أن أقوم بالتدريب المباشر مع أشخاص في فصل دراسي أو بيئة استوديو . لست متأكدًا مما إذا كانت تساعد علامتي التجارية ، لكني أحب ذلك. حلقات العمل هذه التي تستغرق يومًا واحدًا مخصصة للمهنيين الطامحين أو العاملين الذين يرغبون في رفع مستوى لعبتهم من حيث المعرفة والتطبيق العملي المتعلق بالجانبين الفني والحرفي للإنتاج الصغير إلى الطاقم.

"الورشة الأولى هي مؤسسة شاملة. نبدأ بالحفر في الإنتاج ، ثم إنتاج أنظمة الكاميرات الرقمية الحديثة. ننتقل بعد ذلك إلى الإنتاج والجانب العملي للأشياء حيث أركز على إعدادات الكاميرا والتكوين والصوت والإضاءة بالطبع! تركز ورشة العمل الثانية كليًا على الإضاءة في بيئات الإنتاج الصغيرة إلى الطاقم. الهدف من ذلك هو القيام بأكبر قدر ممكن من التدريب العملي / العملي خلال الوقت المتاح لنا. إنه موقع رائع - استوديو BAZA - الذي قمت بتدريسه في عدة مرات. لقد نجحنا بالفعل في التنقيب عن الإضاءة بطرق مختلفة مع هذه الصورة ودائما بهدف جعل الإطارات تبدو سينمائية أكثر. "

أنهيت المقابلة بسؤال شوفيلد عما كان في الأفق بالنسبة له في المستقبل. وقال "بصفتك" مستقلاً مهنياً ، "لا تعرف أبدًا ما الذي سيحدث بعد ذلك - على الأقل من منظور قائم على العميل". "بعد سنوات 23 ، أعلم أنه سيكون هناك صعود وهبوط ، ولكن إذا كنت أعمل بجد وأتحسن في ما أقوم به من أجل لقمة العيش - لا أتوقف أبدًا عن التعلم - سيحدث عمل جديد. أعتقد أنه من المهم لأي شخص ينظر إلى هذا "أسلوب الحياة" أن يتذكره. مزاجه هو الآخر الكبير. الناس يريدون العمل مع الناس الذين لا جعل حياتهم بائسة.

"فيما يتعلق بالجانب التعليمي من C47 ، لدي كبير خطط! ستشهد الأشهر الإثني عشر المقبلة مساحة الإنتاج الخاصة بي قيد الإنشاء - على الأقل في المرحلة الأولى - حتى أتمكن من إنشاء محتوى أكثر تعمقًا لقناتي. سيكون التركيز الأساسي على إنتاج الفيديو ، ولكن سيتم إنشاء محتوى حول التصوير أيضًا. أحب مساعدة الناس على تعلم الجانب الفني والجانب الحرفي من هذا العمل وآمل أن أفعل ذلك في الفصول الدراسية وعلى الإنترنت لفترة طويلة جدًا! "

_____________________________________________________________________________________________________

لمزيد من المعلومات حول Jem ومكان وجوده ، تفضل بزيارة www.theC47.com أو تفضل بزيارة قناته على YouTube على www.youtube.com/thec47, حيث ينشر المحتوى التعليمي المستمر الذي يركز على حرفة إنتاج الفيديو و صناعة الأفلام المتعلقة الصغيرة للإنتاج الطاقم.

تتوفر دروسه المتعمقة عبر الإنترنت "إضاءة الفيديو السينمائية" و "إضاءة الفيديو السينمائية المتقدمة" على Lynda.com جنبا إلى جنب مع أحدث دورة له ، "فيديو حدث الشركات: إنتاج اجتماعات الشركة والعروض التقديمية".

الموقع: www.thec47.com

قناة يوتيوب: www.youtube.com/thec47

Instagram: jemschofield

تويتر:thec47

الفيسبوك: www.facebook.com/thec47

ينكدين: www.linkedin.com/in/jemschofield


نبهني
دوغ كرينتزلين

دوغ كرينتزلين

كاتب at بث البث
دوغ كرينتزلين هو ممثل وكاتب ومؤرخ سينمائي وتليفزيوني يعيش في سيلفر سبرينج ، دكتوراه في الطب مع قطتيه بانثر وملكة جمال كيتي.
دوغ كرينتزلين

آخر المشاركات عن طريق دوغ Krentzlin (انظر جميع)

Home » Featured » 2019 NAB Show New York Profile: Jem Schofield

2019 NAB Show New York Profile: Jem Schofield


AlertMe

Jem Schofield (source: Jessica Workman-Schofield)

2019 NAB Show New York Profiles are a series of interviews with prominent professionals in the broadcasting industry who will be participating in this year’s NAB Show New York (Oct. 16-17).

________________________________________________________________

Filmmaker and Small-to-No-Crew video guru Jem Schofield, the subject of my latest interview, is a man who wears many hats. “I’m a producer, DP, educator, and the founder of theC47, a full-service production company that focuses on video production, filmmaking, consulting, and  education,” he told me. “I am also an equipment design consultant to many manufacturers in the film and television industry.

“I started this journey as a kid. My father is a professional photographer and I grew up in an apartment that had a small kitchen that turned into a darkroom at night. My first camera was a used Pentax K-1000. It was a great start to my education in this field. In high school, I did photography and some video production, but it wasn’t until I started my own company in the mid 90’s that I came back to video production.

“On a parallel path to having a creative company, I became a post-production educator that focused on DVD authoring, motion graphics, and eventually editing. That started a long relationship with Apple and FMC, which produces the educational content for NAB.

“Everything went plop in 2008. With nothing happening on a day to day basis—virtually no work coming in, I started theC47 and began producing daily online videos related to video production and filmmaking. That content eventually led to work producing educational content for companies like Canon, Zeiss, AbelCine, and other companies in the industry. It was also the DSLR [Digital Single Lens Reflex] Revolution, so I started to teach classes and workshops focused on production and moved away from post-production training.

“The original mission for theC47 was only educational, but as someone who has been in production for over 20 years as a producer, DP, and educator, I eventually merged my original production company with theC47 into one entity when we moved to the Pacific Northwest a couple of years ago.”

I asked Scholfield to tell me about his work as an equipment design consultant. “It’s ongoing with different companies in the industry,” he answered. “I try to help them design better products. On one occasion, a number of years ago, I started a relationship with FJ Westcott. That led to the design and development of two products that bear theC47 brand name. One is theC47 DP kit and the other is theC47 Book Light Kit. Both light kits are designed for Small-to-No-Crew production and are modular light modifiers so they can be used in many different ways. I’m proud of them and continue to work with Westcott and other companies to create better tools for what we do.”

When I asked Schofield to detail what he covers in his courses, he responded, “It can be very specific or broad depending on the topic, but everything I teach is focused around the tech and craft of production. Camera, lighting, grip and audio. I primarily focus on Small-to-No-Crew, which is probably the biggest growing segment of production, especially with so much in-house production these days.”

My next question was about the various types of cameras, lighting equipment, and software Schofield uses in his classes. “As an DP and educator, I am using so many tools that sometimes I forget!” he answered. “One thing that has changed is my workshops when I realized they were getting too gear-centric. I would try to have everything, including the kitchen sink, so attendees could always see the latest and greatest. I realized that this was taking away from the educational side of things in terms of practical application, so I have simplified how much kit is in the workshops, and I’m only including the things being used by myself and others on a day-to-day basis. This doesn’t mean there isn’t a lot of equipment in the workshops. There is! It’s just that it’s more focused, so we can get into set ups more quickly, so people can get more out of the workshops.

“I personally shoot with the Canon C200, C300MKII, Sony FS7 II, Fujifilm X-T3, and also the ALEXA Mini when on bigger projects. Lenses are project-based. Canon and Zeiss for the majority of projects and also a lot of Fuji and Sigma glass. Lighting is also all over the place and is project-driven. Westcott’s FlexCine line, SkyPanels, Litepanels, Aputure, Fillex, etc. I am testing new lights and light modifiers all of the time! I am also a grip junkie so you will see a lot of that stuff in my workshops as well.”

Schofield will be conducting two Small-to-No-Crew workshops “Corporate & In-House Productions” and “Cinematic Video Lighting” at this October’s NAB Show New York  “That relationship with FMC and NAB started in the early 2000s,” he explained. “I have been teaching at the show ever since. It’s important to me to be involved with NAB as there is a community aspect that is very important to me, and besides the on-site training I do for larger companies, it’s my chance to do live training with people in a classroom or studio environment. I’m not sure if it helps my brand, but I love to do it. These one-day workshops are for aspiring or working professionals that want to up their game in terms of knowledge and practical application related to both the technical and craft sides of Small-to-No-Crew production.

“The first workshop is an all-arounder. We start by digging into production, producing, and then an understanding of modern digital camera systems. We then move into the production and practical side of things where I focus on camera set-ups, composition, audio and, of course, lighting! The second workshop is wholly focused on lighting in Small-to-No-Crew production environments. The goal is to do as much practical/hands-on as possible within the time we have. It’s a great location—BAZA Studio—which I have taught in a couple of times. We really get to dig into lighting in different ways with this one and always with the goal of making frames look more cinematic.”

I wrapped up the interview by asking Schofield what was on the horizon for him in the future. “As a ‘career freelancer,’ you never know what’s coming next—at least from a client-based perspective,” he said. “After 23 years I know that there will be ups and downs, but if I work hard and get better at what I do for a living—never stop learning—new work will come about. I think that’s important for anyone that is looking at this ‘lifestyle’ to remember. Temperament is the other big one. People want to work with people who don’t make their lives miserable.

“In terms of the educational side of theC47, I have big plans! The next twelve months will see my production space being built out—at least phase one—so that I am able to create more in-depth content for my channel. The primary focus will be on video production, but there will be content created around photography as well. I love helping people learn both the technical side and the craft side of this business and hope that both in classrooms and on-line that I can do that for a very long time!”

_____________________________________________________________________________________________________

For more information about Jem & his whereabouts, visit www.theC47.com or visit his YouTube Channel at www.youtube.com/thec47, where he posts ongoing educational content focused on the craft of video production and filmmaking related to small to no crew productions.

His in-depth online courses “Cinematic Video Lighting” and “Advanced Cinematic Video Lighting” are available on Lynda.com along with his latest course, “Corporate Event Video: Producing Company Meetings and Presentations.”

Website: www.thec47.com

YouTube Channel: www.youtube.com/thec47

Instagram: jemschofield

Twitter: @thec47

Facebook: www.facebook.com/thec47

LinkedIn: www.linkedin.com/in/jemschofield

 


AlertMe
Doug Krentzlin

Doug Krentzlin

Writer at Broadcast Beat
Doug Krentzlin is an actor, writer, and film & TV historian who lives in Silver Spring, MD with his cats Panther and Miss Kitty.
Doug Krentzlin

Latest posts by Doug Krentzlin (see all)