الضرب:
الرئيسية » منتجات متميزة » شكل وصوت "بوش" (المادة 1 من 3)

شكل وصوت "بوش" (المادة 1 من 3)


نبهني

تيتوس ويليفر في دور هاري بوش في اللقطة الأخيرة من "Raise the Dead ،" الحلقة الرابعة ، الموسم الخامس من بوش

أمازون برايم فيديو بوش، ليس فقط أفضل برنامج شرطي لعنة على شاشة التلفزيون اليوم ، بل هو أيضًا واحد من أفضل المسلسلات الإجرائية للشرطة في تاريخ التلفزيون ، حيث يوجد حملة التفتيش, البلوز شارع التلو المشتبه به الرئيسي. العرض ، الذي تم عرض موسمه الخامس لأول مرة في أبريل ، يجمع بين رواية القصص المكثفة والمثيرة مع كتابة نصية ذكية ، وإخراج إبداعي ، وإحدى أفضل الفرق التمثيلية التي ستشاهدها على الشاشة الصغيرة.

استنادًا إلى روايات مايكل كونيلي (وهو أيضًا المنتج التنفيذي للمسلسل) ، بوش تدور حول محقق جرائم قتل في لوس أنجلوس يدعى هاري بوش. (اسم ميلاد هاري هو هيرونيموس ، نسبة إلى الرسام الهولندي في القرن الخامس عشر.) كان أكبر تأثير لكونيللي هو الكاتب العظيم ريموند تشاندلر ، الذي أسس ، جنبًا إلى جنب مع داشيل هاميت ، النغمة والأسلوب الذي يميز الخيال الأمريكي الغامض. في الأربعينيات من القرن الماضي ، أصبح تشاندلر أبرز مؤرخ خيالي لمدينة لوس أنجلوس، تقليد يستمر كونيلي في عمله. مثل بطل المخبر الخاص في تشاندلر فيليب مارلو ، يعمل بوش وفقًا لقانون أخلاقي قوي ومكرس لتعزيز قضية العدالة بغض النظر عن العواقب أو من تهدد سلطته من خلال نتائج تحقيقاته وأهدافه الرئيسية لتحقيق السلام وبعض الشعور بالانغلاق على ضحايا الجريمة وعائلاتهم. (شعار بوش هو "الجميع مهم أو لا أحد يحسب.") لا يوجد ائتمان صغير لتميز المسلسل ينتمي إلى التمثيل المثالي للمخضرم التلفزيوني تيتوس ويليفر في دور هاري بوش ، وهو دور يبدو كما لو أنه ولد ليلعبه.

في تصميمهم على الحفاظ على جودة الروايات ، عمل كونيلي عن كثب مع الكاتب والمنتج إريك أوفرمير ، الذي لعب دورًا رئيسيًا في تطوير المسلسل لشركة أمازون. كان كونيلي وأوفرمير على دراية تامة بكيفية كون النسخ السينمائية لكتب تشاندلر وهاميت أساسًا لنوع أفلام الجريمة المسلوقة بنفس القدر والمعروفة بمظهرها المظلم والشجاع الذي أطلق عليه النقاد الفرنسيون لاحقًا اسم "فيلم نوار" ، وأن تحتاج سلسلة Bosch لتعكس هذا التقليد الأسود. نتيجة لذلك ، تتمتع السلسلة بمظهر وصوت مميزين للغاية يميزانها عن البرامج البوليسية التلفزيونية الأخرى. في هذه السلسلة من المقالات ، سأتحدث إلى الفنانين من وراء الكواليس المسؤولين عن الصفات الفريدة للمسلسل ، بدءًا من مخرجين من الموسم الأخير من البرنامج.

مدير إرنست ديكرسون كان مع بوش مسلسل منذ موسمه الأول. المصور السينمائي السابق الذي تحول إلى مخرج ، يعتبر أسلوب ديكرسون البصري رصيدًا قيمًا للمسلسل ، بدءًا من الموسم الثالث ، أصبح تقليدًا أن يعهد إليه بنهائيات الموسم. كما أوضح ديكرسون ، "أفكر دائمًا في كيفية استخدام الكاميرا لسرد القصة. يجب أن تحكي كل لقطة جزءًا من القصة — إذا كان المشهد عبارة عن فقرة ، فيجب أن تكون كل لقطة جملة. حتى بصفتي مصورًا سينمائيًا ، حاولت دائمًا استخدام الكاميرا باعتبارها أكثر من مجرد جهاز تسجيل ، ولكن للمساعدة في غمر الجمهور في تجربة القصة ".

يعترف ديكرسون بالتقاليد السينمائية للمسلسل. "بوش هو LA Noir والشيء الرائع في هذا العرض هو أن LA هي شخصية رئيسية في المسلسل. سنظهر للمدينة جوانبها الجيدة والسيئة. بالإضافة إلى أننا سنعرض بعضًا من تاريخ لوس أنجلوس مثل Angels Flight وأنفاق مترو الخط الأحمر القديمة في الموسم الرابع ".

على عكس ديكرسون ، لورا بيلسي هي قادمة جديدة إلى بوش، لكنها مديرة ذات خبرة ومطلوبة ، وربما اشتهرت بعملها في عروض الأبطال الخارقين في CW سهم و الضوء. تدرك Belsey أيضًا أهمية إعداد المسلسل. "مدينة لوس أنجليس هي شخصية رئيسية فيها بوش، لذلك نحن اطلاق النار على الموقع الكثير. جزء من ما هو رائع جدا حول بوش هو التفاني المطلق للواقعية ، لذلك نحن اطلاق النار في بعض الأحياء مثيرة للاهتمام حقا. إنه أمر رائع من وجهة نظر بصرية ، لكنه يمثل تحديًا بالنسبة لقسم الصوت وهو مذهل. لقد اندهشت من مدى جودة الصوت الذي انتهى إليه الأمر في النظر في مدى صخب بعض مواقعنا. لقد تعلمت أن Pacoima لديه ، جدا سيارات صاخبة! خاصة في ليلة الجمعة ... "

نظرًا للأسلوب المرئي للمسلسل ، فليس من المستغرب أن يعمل كلا المخرجين من القصص المصورة (الرسوم التوضيحية لتكوينات الكاميرا المختلفة ، على عكس صفحة الكتاب الهزلي) ، وإن كان ذلك باستخدام أساليب مختلفة لهذه التقنية. ديكرسون ، على سبيل المثال ، يرسم لوحاته المصورة بالقلم الرصاص. تخصص في الهندسة المعمارية في الكلية وسألته عما إذا كان لذلك أي تأثير على استخدامه للقصص المصورة. أجاب: "أنا متأكد من ذلك". "إنه نصي المرئي الذي أقوم بإنشائه باستخدام القصص المصورة الخاصة بي والتي تساعد في تصميم الرقصات لكيفية استخدام الكاميرا في سرد ​​القصة."

من ناحية أخرى ، يستخدم Belsey برنامجًا للقصة المصورة. أوضح بيلسي: "أعمل نسختي الخاصة من القصص المصورة الرقمية". "ألتقط الكثير من الصور باستخدام تطبيق Artemis ، حيث يمكنك اختيار العدسة وتصميم الإطار ، ثم استيراد الصور إلى Scriptation ، وهو تطبيق التعليقات التوضيحية للنص. أنا من أشد المعجبين بـ Scriptation - إنها لعبة تغيير بالنسبة لي. ينتهي الأمر بنصوصي بوجود عالم مرئي موازٍ للعرض ، مع تحديد معظم اللقطات ولكن مع طاقم من أفراد الطاقم يقفون بجانب الممثلين في الكشافة! إنه أمر مضحك ".

قدمت حلقة الموسم الخامس التي أخرجها بيلسي "Raise the Dead" عنصرًا مرئيًا مثيرًا للاهتمام في شكل ذكريات الماضي لإحدى قضايا القتل المبكرة لبوش. (أعيد فتح القضية مع ادعاءات بسوء سلوك الشرطة وزرعت أدلة.) وعُرضت ذكريات الماضي ، التي صورت بوش الأصغر وهو يحقق في الجريمة ، باللونين الأبيض والأسود مع عناصر معزولة ملونة. اختتمت الحلقة بفلاش باك نهائي بالأبيض والأسود بدأ داخل منزل الضاحية لعائلة الضحية ، ومع تحرك الكاميرا من اليسار إلى اليمين عبر الحديقة الأمامية للمنزل ، انتقلت الصورة إلى اللون ، مع توقف المقلاة على صورة مقرّبة لبوش جالسًا في سيارته المتوقفة في الشارع. (انظر الصورة أعلاه.) قال بيلسي: "كانت فكرة ذكريات الماضي بالأبيض والأسود موجودة بالفعل في النص ، كتبها توم برناردو الموهوب". "جاءت هذه اللقطة الأخيرة من المناقشات التي أجريتها مع مايكل ماكدونو ، مدير التصوير الفوتوغرافي لدينا. كنت أرغب في ربط الماضي بالحاضر ، واعتقدت أنه سيكون من الرائع العودة إلى اللون مرة أخرى في لقطة واحدة وربط Bosch الأصغر سنا مع Bosch الحالية ".

قام ماكدونو (الذي ستظهر مقابلته في الجزء الثاني من هذه السلسلة) بالتفصيل في التفاصيل الفنية لهذه الفلاش باك. "لقد اختبرنا كلاً من المستشعرات الملونة والأحادية اللون في Red Studios في الإعداد المسبق وقررنا ، بعد الدراسة في كل من Warner Brothers Imaging مع الملون سكوت كلاين ، أن ما أعطته أحادي اللون هو شعور حقيقي بالأبيض والأسود ، مما أضاف جودة يشبه FP4 الثقيل القديم و HP5 Ilford السلبي. لذلك اخترنا RED Helium Monochrome لمشاهد الفلاش باك تلك ".

أوضح ماكدونو أن انتقال الفلاش باك من الأبيض والأسود إلى اللون "تم باستخدام كاميرات Weapon Monstro 8K العادية وتم إجراء الانتقالات في ما بعد لمطابقة المظهر الأسود والأبيض الآخر بأكبر قدر ممكن". فيما يتعلق باللقطة الأخيرة للحلقة ، تذكرت ماكدونو أن "الوقوف في مكان ما في الإعدادية شعرت بالحق في القيام بذلك بحركة أنيقة واحدة. استخدمنا منظارًا مائيًا يبلغ ارتفاعه 80 قدمًا ولحسن الحظ أن رأس التحكم عن بعد يتناسب تمامًا مع النوافذ المفتوحة للمنزل دون الحاجة إلى القيام بأي أعمال نجارة ... لذلك نتراجع عن المشهد بحامل هاري ، واستبدلنا النوافذ بـ CG ، و يتم الاتصال بالألوان عندما نتجاوز سياج الحديقة وقبل أن نصل إلى هاري في السيارة. اعتقدت أنها طريقة رائعة وأنيقة للقيام بذلك ".

قدمت الحلقة الأخيرة من الموسم "Creep Signed His Kill" تحديًا بصريًا غير عادي لديكرسون أيضًا. ذروة الحلقة تجد بوش في منزله تحت الحصار من قبل ثلاثة من المجرمين الذين يسعون للانتقام من بوش لخرق مضربهم غير القانوني "مطحنة حبوب منع الحمل". يمثل إطلاق النار في الليل دائمًا صعوبات ، ولكن في المساء كان من المقرر أن يكون المشهد محددًا ، استقر بنك الضباب في الموقع الخارجي. قال لي ديكرسون: "لقد كانت مشكلة في كيفية استخدام ظلام الليل لصالحنا". “يتمتع منزل Bosch بإطلالة رائعة على لوس أنجلوس أثناء الليل ، لذلك كان من الممكن تصوير الشخصيات بظلالها على أضواء المدينة. الكاميرات الرقمية اليوم حساسة للغاية لدرجة أنني تمكنت من تصوير الممثلين بظلالهم مقابل الضباب فوق المدينة ".

يتمتع كلا المخرجين بذكريات جميلة عن العمل مع فريق عمل Bosch وطاقم العمل. قال ديكرسون: "لقد عملنا معًا لفترة طويلة ونحن كعائلة". تذكرت بيلسي: "لقد كانت فرحة مطلقة ، من خلال وعبر". "فريق التمثيل الحلم وواحد من أفضل الفرق التي عملت معها على الإطلاق."


نبهني

Home » Featured » The Look and Sound of “Bosch” (article 1 of 3)

The Look and Sound of “Bosch” (article 1 of 3)


AlertMe

Titus Welliver as Harry Bosch in the final shot of “Raise the Dead,” Episode Four, Season Five of Bosch

Amazon Prime Video’s Bosch, is not just the best damn cop show on TV today, it is also one of the finest police procedural series in the history of television, right up there with Dragnet, Hill Street Blues, and Prime Suspect. The show, which premiered its fifth season this April, combines intense, riveting storytelling with intelligent scripting, creative direction, and one of the finest acting ensembles you’ll see on the small screen.

Based on the novels of Michael Connelly (who is also the series’ executive producer), Bosch centers around an LA homicide detective named Harry Bosch. (Harry’s birth name is Hieronymus, after the 15th Century Dutch painter.) Connelly’s biggest influence was the great writer Raymond Chandler, who, along with Dashiell Hammett, established the hard-boiled tone and style that typifies American mystery fiction. In the 1940s, Chandler became the most notable fictional chronicler of the city of Los Angeles, a tradition Connelly continues in his work. Like Chandler’s private detective hero Philip Marlowe, Bosch operates from a strong moral code and is dedicated to furthering the cause of justice no matter what the consequences are or whose authority is threatened by the results of his investigations, his main goals to bring peace and some sense of closure to the crime victims and their families. (Bosch’s motto is “Everybody counts or nobody counts.”) No small credit for the series’ excellence belongs to the letter-perfect casting of television veteran Titus Welliver as Harry Bosch, a role it seems as though he was born to play.

In their determination to preserve the quality of the novels, Connelly worked closely with writer and producer Erik Overmyer, who played a major role in developing the series for Amazon. Connelly and Overmyer were well aware of how film versions of books by Chandler and Hammett were the basis of the equally hard-boiled genre of crime movies known for their dark, gritty look that the French critics later dubbed “film noir,” and that the Bosch series needed to reflect that noir tradition. As a result, the series has a very distinctive look and sound that set it apart from other TV detective shows. In this series of articles, I’ll be talking to the behind-the-scenes artists who are responsible for the series’ unique qualities, starting with two directors from the show’s most recent season.

Director Ernest R. Dickerson has been with the Bosch series since its first season. A former cinematographer-turned-director, Dickerson’s visual style is considered to be such a valuable asset to the series that, starting with the third season, it’s become a tradition to entrust him with the show’s season finales. As Dickerson explained, “I’m always thinking of how to use the camera to tell the story. Each shot should tell a part of the story—if a scene is a paragraph, then each shot should be a sentence. Even as a cinematographer, I always tried to use the camera as more than a recording device, but to help immerse the audience in the experience of the story.”

Dickerson acknowledges the series’ cinematic tradition. “Bosch is LA Noir and the great thing about this show is that LA is a major character in the series. We get to show the city in its good sides and the bad. Plus we get to show some of LA history like Angels Flight and the old Red Line subway tunnels in Season Four.”

Unlike Dickerson, Laura Belsey is a newcomer to Bosch, but she’s an experienced, in-demand director, perhaps been known for her work on the CW’s superhero shows Arrow and The Flash. Belsey is also aware of the importance of the series’ setting. “The city of Los Angles is a major character in Bosch, so we shoot on location a great deal. Part of what is so wonderful about Bosch is the absolute dedication to realism, so we shoot in some really interesting neighborhoods. It’s fantastic from a visual standpoint, but challenging for the sound department and they are amazing. I was surprised at how good the sound ended up being considering how incredible noisy some of our locations were. I learned that Pacoima has very, very loud cars! Especially on a Friday night…”

Given the series’ visual style, it’s no surprise that both directors work from storyboards (illustrations of the various camera compositions, not unlike a comic book page), albeit with different approaches to the technique. Dickerson, for example, draws his storyboards in pencil. He majored in architecture in college and I asked if that had any influence on his use of storyboards. “I’m sure it does,” he responded. “It’s my visual script that I create with my storyboards that help choreograph how I will use the camera in telling the story.”

Belsey, on the other hand, uses software for storyboarding. “I do my own version of digital storyboards,” Belsey explained. “I take lots of pictures with the app Artemis, where you can choose the lens and design the frame, and then import the pictures into Scriptation, the script annotation app. I’m a huge fan of Scriptation—it’s a game changer for me. My scripts end up having a visual parallel universe of the show, with most of the shots mapped out but with crew people standing in for the actors on the scouts! It’s hilarious.”

The Season Five episode Belsey directed “Raise the Dead” introduced an interesting stylized visual element in the form of flashbacks to one of Bosch’s early murder cases. (The case was being reopened with claims of police misconduct and planted evidence.) The flashbacks, which depicted a younger Bosch investigating the crime, were shown in black-and-white with isolated elements in color. The episode concluded with a final black-and-white flashback that started inside the suburban house of the victim’s family and, as the camera panned from left to right across the house’s front lawn, the image transitioned to color, with the pan stopping on a close-up of Bosch sitting in his car parked on the street. (See photo above.) “The idea of the flashbacks being in black-and-white was already in the script, written by the talented Tom Bernardo,” said Belsey. “That last shot came from discussions I had with Michael McDonough, our DP [director of photography]. I wanted to link the past to the present, and thought it would be cool to shift back into color in one shot and connect younger Bosch with present-day Bosch.”

McDonough (whose interview will appear in the second installment of this series) elaborated on the technical details of these flashbacks. “We tested both color and monochrome sensors at Red Studios in prep and decided that, after studying both at Warner Brothers Imaging with our colorist Scott Klein, what the monochrome gave is more of a sense of genuine black-and-white, adding a quality akin to the old ‘silver’ heavy FP4 and HP5 Ilford negative. So we went with the RED Helium Monochrome for those flashback scenes.”

McDonough explained that the transitioning of the flashbacks from black-and-white to color “were done with our regular Weapon Monstro 8K cameras and the transitions were done in post to match the other black-and-white look as closely as possible.” Regarding the episode’s final shot, McDonough remembered that “standing on location in prep it just felt right to do it in one elegant move. We used an 80 foot Hydroscope and luckily the remote head just fit in through the open windows of the house without having to do any carpentry… So we pull back from the scene with a stand-in for Harry, replace the windows with CG, and the color dials in as we pan past the garden hedge and before we land on Harry in the car. I thought it was a neat and elegant way to do it.”

The season’s final episode “Creep Signed His Kill” presented Dickerson with an unusual visual challenge as well. The episode’s climax finds Bosch in his house under siege by a trio of criminals seeking revenge for Bosch busting their illegal “pill mill” racket. Shooting at night always presents difficulties, but, on the evening the scene was scheduled for, a fog bank settled in on the outdoor location. “It was a problem in how to use the dark of night to our advantage,” Dickerson told me. “The Bosch house has a magnificent view of nighttime LA, so it was possible to silhouette the characters against the city lights. Today’s digital cameras are so sensitive I was able to silhouette the actors against the mist over the city.”

Both directors have fond memories of working with the Bosch cast and crew. “We have been working together so long we’re like a family,” Dickerson said. “It was an absolute joy, through and through,” Belsey remembered. “A dream cast and one of the best teams I’ve ever worked with.”


AlertMe
Doug Krentzlin

Doug Krentzlin

Writer at Broadcast Beat
Doug Krentzlin is an actor, writer, and film & TV historian who lives in Silver Spring, MD with his cats Panther and Miss Kitty.
Doug Krentzlin